International Arbitration in the U.S. and the Americas

Updated: Apr 20

This will be the first segment of a two-part webinar series on international arbitration focused on Japan, the U.S. and the Americas. The second webinar on “International Arbitration in Japan and Asia” is on April 30.


This webinar will provide an introduction to international arbitration in the U.S. and more broadly in the Americas. During the first part of the webinar, a panel of international arbitration specialists will provide an overview on the U.S. legal system and the legal framework for international arbitration in the U.S. and the Americas. Panelists will also address issues and considerations for international arbitration proceedings seated in the U.S. and the Americas, or involving American parties. The second part of the webinar will provide an overview on legal education and legal practice opportunities in the field of international arbitration in the U.S. for foreign-trained lawyers.



April 22 | 12:00-13:30 in Japan Standard Time

Relative times, internationally:

06:00 AM Moscow, Russia

07:00 AM Dubai, U.A.E.

08:00 AM Islamabad, Pakistan

08:30 AM New Delhi, India

09:00 AM Bangladesh, India

10:00 AM Bangkok, Thailand

10:00 AM Jakarta, Indonesia

11:00 AM Beijing, China

11:00 AM Manila, Philippines

11:00 AM Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

11:00 AM Singapore, Singapore

12:00 PM Seoul, South Korea

01:00 PM Melbourne & Sydney, Australia

01:00 PM Vladivostok, Russia

03:00 PM Wellington, New Zealand


08:00 PM U.S. WEST COAST on April 21


The webinar is jointly organized by the University of Miami School of Law, the Miami International Arbitration Society (MIAS),the Japan Commercial Arbitration Association (JCAA) and the Japan International Dispute Resolution Centre (JIDRC).


SPEAKERS

(in alphabetical order)

Matthew N. Drossos, Partner, White & Case, Washington, D.C.

Sandra Friedrich, Lecturer in Law and Director, International Arbitration Institute and White & Case International Arbitration LL.M., University of Miami School of Law, Coral Gables, FL

Daniel E. González, Partner, Hogan Lovells, Miami, FL and Adjunct Professor, University of Miami School of Law, Coral Gables, FL

Naoki Kanayama, Professor of Law Emeritus, Keio University Law School, Tokyo, Japan

Katharine Menendez de la Cuesta, Partner, Holland & Knight, Miami, FL

Richard L. Williamson, Jr., Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Miami School of Law, Coral Gables, FL


REGISTER NOW

AGENDA

12:00 PM JST: Welcome Remarks

Caroline M. Bradley, Associate Dean for International & Graduate Law Programs and Professor of Law & Dean’s Distinguished Scholar, University of Miami School of Law, Coral Gables, FL

Yoshihisa Hayakawa, Secretary General, Japan International Dispute Resolution Centre, Tokyo, Japan

Adolfo E. Jimenez, Miami International Arbitration Society Chairman & Partner, Holland & Knight, Miami, FL