• MIAS

Japan Touchpoints in the Americas: Economy, International Arbitration & ADR and Developing Capacity

Updated: Apr 27

This will be the second segment of a two-part webinar series on international arbitration focused on Japan, the U.S. and the Americas. The first webinar is on April 22 and this one is on April 30.


[Link to session 1 video]


As a world top three economy, Japan has had a tremendous impact on business across the United States and countries in Latin America. Japan’s vibrant international business community relies on international arbitration, and the volumes of cross-border transactions between Japan and U.S. demonstrate the importance of dispute resolution in Japan. The Japan Commercial Arbitration Association (JCAA), Japan International Dispute Resolution Centre (JIDRC), the University of Miami School of Law and the Miami International Arbitration Society (MIAS) are pleased to offer the webinar on the Japanese economic partnership in the Americas, the reformation of international arbitration and mediation in Japan, and the developing capacity through a Miami – Japan connection in this field.


April 30 | 09:00 AM EDT and 22:00 JST

Relative times, internationally:4:00


06:00 AM U.S. West Coast

08:00 AM Bogota, Colombia

08:00 AM Mexico City, Mexico

08:00 AM Quito, Ecuador

09:00 AM Paraguay

09:00 AM La Paz, Bolivia

10:00 AM São Paulo, Brazil

10:00 AM Buenos Aires, Argentina

10:00 AM Montevideo, Uruguay

02:00 PM London, UK

03:00 PM Paris, France

03:00 PM Brussels, Belgium

04:00 PM Moscow, Russia

04:00 PM Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

06:00 PM Islamabad, Pakistan

06:30 PM New Delhi, India

07:00 PM Dhaka, Bangladesh

08:00 PM Jakarta, Indonesia

09:00 PM Hong Kong, Hong Kong

09:00 PM Manila, Philippines


The webinar is jointly organized by the University of Miami School of Law, the Miami International Arbitration Society (MIAS),the Japan Commercial Arbitration Association (JCAA) and the Japan International Dispute Resolution Centre (JIDRC).


SPEAKERS

(in alphabetical order)

Jake Baccari, Partner, Tenzer Arrieta, Miami, FL

James Claxton, Professor of Law, Rikkyo University, Tokyo, Japan

Sandra Friedrich, Lecturer in Law and Director, International Arbitration Institute and White & Case International Arbitration LL.M., University of Miami School of Law, Coral Gables, FL

Yoshihisa Hayakawa, Secretary General, Japan International Dispute Resolution Centre, Tokyo, Japan

Shinji Ogawa, Manager, Japan Commercial Arbitration Association, Tokyo, Japan

Takashi Yokoyama, J.D./LL.M., Associate, Tenzer Arrieta, Miami, FL



REGISTER NOW


AGENDA


9:00 AM ET: Welcome Remarks and Introduction of Speakers


Moderator: Sandra Friedrich, Lecturer in Law and Director, International Arbitration Institute and White & Case International Arbitration LL.M., University of Miami School of Law, Coral Gables, FL


Speakers:

Caroline M. Bradley, Associate Dean for International & Graduate Law Programs and Professor of Law & Dean’s Distinguished Scholar, University of Miami School of Law, Coral Gables, FL

Yoshihisa Hayakawa, Secretary General, Japan International Dispute Resolution Centre, Tokyo, Japan

Don Hayden, Miami International Arbitration Society Chairman-Elect & Partner, Mark Migdal & Hayden, Miami, FL


9:10 AM ET: Session 1: Japan’s Economic Partnership and International Arbitration in Latin America

During Session 1 of the webinar, Speakers will provide Japan’s economic impacts on trade and investment volumes of each sector and industry with the number and fact of international trade and investment agreements between Japan and the countries in the Latin America. Speakers will also address a couple of recent international arbitration cases involving Japanese companies seated in the U.S. and the Americas.

Speakers:

Jake Baccari, Partner and Takashi Yokoyama, Associate, Tenzer Arrieta PLLC, Miami, FL


9:30 AM ET: Session 2: International Arbitration and ADR Development in Japan

During Session 2 of the webinar, Speakers will present statistical data and practices about the JCAA-administered international arbitration cases and share the current developments on the arbitration system of Japan such as the reform of JCAA’s arbitration rules and proposed amendments to the Arbitration Law. Speakers will also provide an overview of the use of commercial mediation in Japan by considering the historical preference for non-adversarial means of dispute resolution and potential explanations (cultural and institutional) and by explaining the features of court-annexed conciliation and private mediation in Japan before turning to the rising interest in international commercial mediation with the creation of the JIMC, the revision of the JCAA mediation rules, and educational and mediator training initiatives.


Speakers:

Shinji Ogawa, Case Manager at Japan Commercial Arbitration Association, Tokyo, Japan

James Claxton, Professor, Rikkyo University, Tokyo, Japan.

10:00 AM ET: Session 3: Developing Capacity in International Arbitration between U.S. and Japan

Session 3 of the webinar will provide an overview on educational and professional training opportunities at the JIDRC’s modern hearing facility and discuss the potential collaboration in the field of international arbitration for young international lawyers through Miami and Japan as a way of capacity development. This session also will provide a brief overview on legal education and legal practice opportunities for foreign-trained lawyers in the field of international arbitration in the U.S.


Speakers:

Yoshihisa Hayakawa, Secretary General, Japan International Dispute Resolution Centre, Tokyo, Japan

Sandra Friedrich, Lecturer in Law and Director, International Arbitration Institute and White & Case International Arbitration LL.M., University of Miami School of Law, Coral Gables, FL


10:20 AM ET: Q&A


10:30 AM ET: Closing Remarks













723 views0 comments