top of page
  • Writer's pictureMIAS

Great Success for the 2022 Richard DeWitt Memorial Vis Pre-Moot

Don Hayden, Partner, Mark Migdal & Hayden and Chairman, MIAS, presenting the award to Taylor Simonds, Stetson University College of Law, winner of the Burton Landy Best Oralist Award at the 2022 Richard DeWitt Memorial Vis Pre Moot competition.

February 19, 2022, the ILS held its annual Richard DeWitt Memorial Vis Pre-Moot hosting 14 amazing teams from 6 countries in its first ever Hybrid pre-moot format. Teams competed both in person and virtually expanding the opportunities for the participants to face foreign schools, as is the case during the Vis itself. We specially thank our co-host JAMS for its continued commitment to our pre-moot, and for providing the facilities and virtual platform for our fantastic event. We also thank our award sponsor, Miami International Arbitration Society (“MIAS”). We also thank are volunteer arbitrators for their time and dedication to our event. As in prior years, we had brilliant oralists and the competition was close. The winning teams should be commended for their excellent performances and skilled team members. Congratulations to our best overall teams: 1st Place: Stetson University College of Law 2nd Place: Universidade Federal da Paraíba 3rd Place: University of Miami Equally close was our individual prize for Best Oralist. Winning this year’s Burt Landy “Best Oralist” Award sponsored by MIAS is Taylor Simonds (Stetson University College of Law). Honorable Mentions to David Berris (University of Miami) and Sienna Heard (American University Washington College of Law). Congratulations to all our participating teams for a great pre-moot!

79 views0 comments


bottom of page